There are several factors that decide whether you’re eligible to receive funding under the NDIS, including your location, age, and whether you meet the requirements for disability or early intervention support. We’ve provided a little more info here, but you can also check your NDIS eligibility by using the NDIS Access Checklist.

Your location

To receive NDIS funding, you need to have been living in an area where the scheme is currently operating, on the day that it was launched. However by 2020 the scheme should be available right across Australia.

Your age

In most areas where the NDIS has launched, you simply need to be under 65 years at the time of your application to meet the requirements, however there are a few exceptions. For more information, visit the NDIS website.

Your residency status

To receive NDIS funding you need to be an Australian citizen, permanent resident, or a New Zealand citizen who holds a Protected Special Category Visa.

Disability requirements

You may receive individual support from the NDIS if you have a permanent disability that significantly affects how you can communicate, move, care for yourself, or manage your life.

Early intervention requirements

You or your child may be given individual support if there’s good evidence that early intervention would substantially improve functioning (for example if you have autism, cerebral palsy, sensory impairments, or an acquired brain injury). Similarly, you’ll be offered support if early intervention will delay or decrease a decline in functioning (for example if you have MS or Parkinson’s disease).

For more info on eligibility visit the NDIS website.